top of page

AR through Blippar & Expeditions

Hello peeps.

I've been actively updating my site because the submission date is near haha.

Technologies that I wanted to introduce today is Augmented Reality (AR). However, we're not going to build apps like Pokemon-go and such.

On your left is some basic information about AR that I've transferred into an infographic which I made on Canva.


Last week, our lecturer introduced us to AR and a bit about how it works. She introduced us to:

Blippar is used to create our own AR while Google Expeditions is a platform to explore ready-built ARs and VRs.


These applications can be downloaded from App Store and Play Store for free. However, if you want to build or create your own AR project, you need to sign up for an account on Blippar's website.


If you're someone that is familiar with coding, you can use scripting tools but, if you opt for easier and faster one, you can choose to start from scratch that doesn't require coding knowledge. Once you're done creating the project, the code could be shared with your intended audiences so that they can experience your AR project. This is about Blippar.


Another thing about AR from Expeditions perspective, it's more friendly than VR because you don't need to have the cardboard to view the data. However, make sure your phone has ARkit so that you can experience AR better. You can check whether your phone has it or not from here. Don't be sad if your phone is not listed because me too! Haha, you can still experience AR without being able to actually locate the images and data from Expeditions on real world. The background of the illustration would be just plain white background.

This is the cardboard I've been talking about. (Google Image)


The two pictures above are the screenshots of Blippar and Expiditions in App Store.


The picture on your left is how you enter the code to be able to view the AR project that my lecturer has created.


In addition, below is my own demonstration of using Google Expeditions.


I find these applications are SO COOL and I wish I knew them earlier especially during my school days because I think they could help me in revising the lesson in a fun way. I promise myself not to make my students feel the same thing like I do in the future.The video below is the positive testimonies of using Blippar from my classmates!

I think that's all for now. Try to explore these applications by your own to experience it better! Happy reading.

bottom of page