top of page

TES Teach: New Norms Gallery Walk

Hello peeps.


Lately, I've been sad because I keep on thinking whether we will be able to go back to campus or not (or are we going to stay at home for ODL forever?) soon. Frustrated me has make it more difficult to concentrate, not that it's an excuse but sometimes we do have times like that. Of course I didn't want to risk my mental health to be sad all days and nights. Hence, I went through what we've done for this semester which I think 80% online and tried to be optimistic.


I still remembered, the day my lecturer, Prof Aziah told my class that we're going to have an exhibition towards the end of our semester because it's part of our assessment of the course. I'm glad because I really like exhibitions, gallery walks and showcases. It is because I get to seeing my friends' creativity as well as feeding my brain with their fruitful imagination and explanation. The cloud of that imagination has crushed because we need to conduct online learning until the end of the semester and automatically the exhibition is cancelled. However, it's replaced with another assessment which was an e-book review.


This time, whether you believe it or not, Prof Aziah made the assessment 'gallery-walk' like by introducing us Blendspace by TES Teach. I've come across the word TES Teach when I first opened the document she shared with us about e-portfolio where a student of hers used TES Teach to do his e-portfolio like what I'm doing right now. Never mind about that but now I'm on cloud nine! Without I consciously realise it before, our lecturer has actually provide us with another option to do gallery walk online. This platform resembles all of my classmates' videos on e-book review which we can watch (and of course replay it until you totally understand the content), comment and compliment. This kind moral support is needed, at this time by everyone.

Look at that! It is wonderful.

Besides, we can even have short quizzes to test whether 'the visitors' understand the content or not!

This is my group's video! There are comments on the right side given by my classmates which I take as emotion and energy boosters. Other than than compliments, of course they might want to disagree as well as speak out their own opinions, which isn't a problem. In fact, I really appreciate those comments because it indicates that people are actually listen attentively to your presentation and have their brains work out.


I think, when it comes to space, we don't have to rent a space anymore to conduct a showcase because it's online! Haha. Just kidding.

I started to see things more and more optimistically now. New norms should neither make anyone left behind nor be unproductive.


Happy reading!

bottom of page