top of page

Google Meet: World on The Screen

Hello readers.

We are currently in the Restriction Movement Order (RMO) period due to the pandemic COVID-19 since March 2020. Hence, the universities and offices are temporarily closed. Despite that, teaching and learning processes are still going on through optimizing the technologies. I presume some are facing difficulties in coping with the new environment yet I am grateful that I am exposed to technologies (we even have a course for technology this semester!) from the beginning so it is not too painful to get through this trying time.

From my observation, in my university, a lot of lecturers choose Google Meet as one of the platforms to conduct classes online other than WebEx and Zoom, a while ago. During my third language class, my lecturer also told us that we are only allowed to have one hour maximum of video conferencing, as directed by administration. Some of my friends have experienced live presentation via Google Meet too. Although it is a quick data-consuming application, I personally think it is a convenient app to use compared to the others.


It's an awesome experience until...

YOU ARE CUT OFF FROM THE MEETING.

Ahaaa, my lecturer experienced that a few weeks ago, perhaps due to the connection problem. Moreover, it is also disheartened to know that some of my friends could not have good internet connection or no coverage at all from their homes.


Released in 2017, Google Meet has now been added to one of the needs in one's household if they need to be connected to the world as in live meetings and classes. As what the title says, it connects people from any part of the world directly to your screen or desktop. It is not only can be used for formal purposes and educations but also to connect one with their family.


As simple as sharing the link of the meeting to those who are related, you can now meet them, for free (except the fact that you are paying for the data or Wi-Fi). Video conferencing has now slowly replaced the visit to relatives house. It is to be hoped that we are going to defeat the virus and visit our relatives' physically because Hari Raya Aidilfitri is coming and I want to taste kuih raya!

Short video above could assist you setting up a meet with the world!


Happy reading.

bottom of page